Happy Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is not a holiday we celebrate in the UK but having American relatives means it’s a holiday I’m aware of and one I feel we could all do with celebrating as remembering what we are grateful for in life is good for our mental health. In the depths of despair when the world feels so dark and I wonder why I bother to live remembering all the things I’m thankful for can help, it doesn’t magically make everything ok but it reminds me that things are never as bad as they seem.


I am thankful for my friends who accept me for what I am warts and all. I am thankful for my cats who provide me with much needed affection on a daily basis. I am thankful for my work which helps me feel I am making a difference in the world and helps my self-esteem. I am thankful for my health which allows me to live my life the way I want to. I am thankful I have a roof over my head, food on my table and whilst money may be tight I do not live in poverty and for that I’m grateful. I am thankful that even though there are times when I feel otherwise I am alive and living my life the best I can with the support of those around me – thank you all.

Leave a Reply

